Review: Plaza Inn Breakfast with Minnie and Friends


I decided to try the Plaza Inn Breakfast with Minnie and Friends since the Carnation Café was pretty full that morning.  I had read some wonderful things about this place online, so I had high expectations. 

We arrived at the entrance and was easily able to get a seat without a reservation.  A Disneyland photographer came and took a photo of DD and I before we were directed to go to the register.  As I was paying, there were Minnie balloons everywhere and DD grabbed a blue one (her favorite color) and kept saying, “Minnie, Minnie, Minnie” and bobbling her balloon around.  The breakfast is all you can eat.  The price for an adult is pretty steep considering there wasn’t a lot to choose from.  It’s $27.99 for adults and $13.99 for kids 3-9 years old.  They serve different cereals, eggs, sausage, bacon, potatoes, Mickey mini-waffles, Cinnamon French toast, fruit, and different pastries.  I’m not a huge breakfast person, but I felt there should’ve been more offerings like pancakes, hash browns, or omelets.

As DD and I were walking to our table, Chip stopped by and kneeled down to DD’s level.  He started playing with her and opened his arms for a hug.  DD went over and gave him a hug and kiss and then he continued to play with her.  It was soooo sweet!  I only wish I wasn’t carrying our food tray so I could’ve taken some photos. 

When we got to our table, I was surprised to see so many characters hopping about.  There was Pooh, Tigger, Rabbit, Captain Hook, Chip, Dale, the Fairy Godmother, and Minnie.  Much more characters than Ariel’s Grotto Princess Lunch at California Adventure.  Tigger came bouncing (literally) to our table and DD LOVED him!  This time I was able to film and shoot some photos.  But when Captain Hook came around, she immediately said, “No.  No.  No.” and didn’t want him to get near her.  She’s never been afraid of the characters, I think it had something to do with the big “human” head as opposed to a big cartoon animal head.  Minnie was the last character to come out and DD was verrry excited when she saw her.  Minnie took her time at each time and finally made her way towards ours as we were close to finishing our meal.  She came up behind DD who didn’t know she was there.  I told her to turn around she looked up and stared, then finally said, “Minnie”. 

A photo person came by and brought us some the printed photo from earlier framed in a folder with a big photo of Minnie.  It was a really cute photo so I got suckered into buying it.  It came with a framed 8×10 of DD & me, and 8×10 of Minnie, and 4 4×6’s of DD & me for $34.99.  Ouch.  But can you put a price on memories? 🙂

Overall, it was a really fun character experience and I’d recommend it for anyone who wants one-on-one time with them.  Unless you’re big on all you can eat buffets, the price for the food wasn’t worth it for me.

About P.T.

Once I took my daughter to Disneyland for the first time at 14 months, I couldn't get enough. I literally saw the magic in her eyes and one of my "things" as a mom is to never let the magic slip away. Being an Annual Passholder and living 400 miles away from Disneyland is almost painful. Now that she's 2, she's a seasoned guest and has not run out of new adventures. Raising a Disney Kid is designed to provide helpful tips, planning info, reviews, and park updates for other parents visiting the Disneyland Resort.
This entry was posted in Disneyland, Food, Reviews and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

