Review: Carnation Café


Earlier this year, I recently discovered the crown jewel of Main Street.  I was at Disneyland with DD, my cousin and her 2 year old daughter.  On our first day at the park, my cousin wanted to grab some breakfast and the only place nearby that I knew of was the Carnation Café.  In the past, I’ve always noticed a long line for this restaurant so I never bothered to wait.  We stopped by and thankfully there was no line.

They sat us right in front by the fence that faces Main Street.  A prime time spot for people watching.  They brought out colorful children’s menus that doubled as coloring pages.  One side featured Toy Story 3 and the other had The Princess and the Frog.  The famous Oscar stopped by our table and was so nice and sweet with the girls.  He gave my niece and daughter a “1st Visit” pin.  Even though it was DD’s third trip at the time, it was still cool to get some free pins.

My niece with the famous Chef Oscar, the longest employed Cast Member

 

I’m not very big on breakfast meals, but the Mickey waffles sounded appetizing.  For DD, I ordered the Junior Scramble which came with scrambled eggs, potatoes, fruit and a the beverage came in a plastic Mickey cup.

A little slice of happiness

 

As soon as I put the first waffle bite into my mouth, I saw rainbows and ponies.  It was the most delicious waffle I have ever had in my life.  It was rightfully crisp on the outside and spongy in the middle with a hint of sweetness and magic. 

I stole a few bites of DD’s potatoes and there was just as delicious.  I’m not sure what they used to season it (rosemary?), but it was very tasty.  They were also soft and easy for DD to feed herself.

The staff was very friendly and engaged in some conversation with my cousin and I.  Since it was my niece’s real first visit, the hostess was telling us where she could meet the princesses and gave my cousin some recommendations on what to see.  Even though I’m a Disneyland veteran, it’s still nice to chat with Cast Members and their insights.

Since this trip, I’ve made it a new tradition to have our first breakfast here.  There’s no character dining, but there’s something truly special about the tiny café on Main Street. 

About P.T.

Once I took my daughter to Disneyland for the first time at 14 months, I couldn't get enough. I literally saw the magic in her eyes and one of my "things" as a mom is to never let the magic slip away. Being an Annual Passholder and living 400 miles away from Disneyland is almost painful. Now that she's 2, she's a seasoned guest and has not run out of new adventures. Raising a Disney Kid is designed to provide helpful tips, planning info, reviews, and park updates for other parents visiting the Disneyland Resort.
This entry was posted in Disneyland, Food, Reviews and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

