Review: Bengal BBQ


I remember seeing the Bengal BBQ in Adventureland when I was a kid and asked my dad if we could eat there.  I don’t remember the reason why, but we never did and I never went there until recently.  Boy, have I been missing out the one of the best eateries in Disneyland!

After reading a few other blog posts on this place, I made it a point to check it out with DH.  Bengal BBQ is located right across from the Jungle Cruise and is a counter service eatery.  That means you stand in line, order your food, and find a place to sit.  Seating is very limited so I recommend that one person in your party snag a table while the other waits in line to order.

The menu items consist of different barbequed skewers.  We tried the Cheiftain Chicken (in Polynesian sauce), Banyan Beef (hot & spicy), Bengal Beef (sweet Zulu sauce), Safari skewers (bacon wrapped asparagus), Jalapeno Cheese Pretzel, Mickey Mouse Pretzel with cheese, and Tiger Tails (grilled breadsticks).  All items are $3.99 or less which is a bargain!

One bite of the chicken and beef skewers and we were in heaven!  My personal favorite was the Bengal Beef in sweet Zulu sauce.  It very tasty!  We even dipped our Safari skewers in the Zulu sauce to make it extra tasty.

The only item I was disappointed in was the Tiger Tails.  In reading other blogger’s reviews I had high expectations for these grilled breadsticks.  I’m not sure if it was just our order, but the bread was so rubbery and dry that I didn’t want to finish eating it.  I did try using it as sandwich bread for the meat, but I couldn’t make myself eat this horrible dryness. 

Tiger Tails aside, we loved this place so much we went back the next day to do it all over again!  And of course DD loved the skewers as well!  Next time we’ll be trying out the Outback Vegetable Skewer (and of course, taking pictures of the chicken and asparagas skewers which I guess we were too busy eatings to remember to take photos!)!

Banyan Beef Skewer (hot & spicy)

Bengal Beef Skewer (in sweet Zulu sauce)

Tiger Tails (grilled breadsticks)

Mickey Mouse Pretzel

Jalapeno Cheese-filled Pretzel

Menu

About P.T.

Once I took my daughter to Disneyland for the first time at 14 months, I couldn't get enough. I literally saw the magic in her eyes and one of my "things" as a mom is to never let the magic slip away. Being an Annual Passholder and living 400 miles away from Disneyland is almost painful. Now that she's 2, she's a seasoned guest and has not run out of new adventures. Raising a Disney Kid is designed to provide helpful tips, planning info, reviews, and park updates for other parents visiting the Disneyland Resort.
This entry was posted in Disneyland, Food, Reviews and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Review: Bengal BBQ

  1. Lala lu says:

    I’m sooo excited to try the skewers!!! They look DEELISH!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

