Memory Lane – 1989


Here’s a photo from Memory Lane, way back in 1989. 

Sleeping Beauty Castle - 1989

This trip may have been my second visit to Disneyland but it was my first memory.  I remembered everything from the LA traffic, to parking in the lot which is now California Adventure, driving the Phantom Boats (and peeing on it!), falling in love with the dancing ghosts at the Haunted Mansion, looking at the castle which I thought was HUGE (only to see it again as a teenager and see how little it is), and last but not least the Main Street Electrical Parade. 

Seeing that parade sparked something in me that I would later pretend to be the little snail at home and “jittering” around in circles in my house’s hallway.  To this day, the music of the parade brings tears to my eyes because it takes me back to the innocence of being a child.  Once you grow up, you can never go back which is why Disneyland will always be a special place for me.  It is the only place in the world where I can escape the reality of being an adult who has to worry about work, bills, laundry, BS, etc.  Thank you, Walt Disney for creating the most magical place where adults can go back to their inner child.

About P.T.

Once I took my daughter to Disneyland for the first time at 14 months, I couldn't get enough. I literally saw the magic in her eyes and one of my "things" as a mom is to never let the magic slip away. Being an Annual Passholder and living 400 miles away from Disneyland is almost painful. Now that she's 2, she's a seasoned guest and has not run out of new adventures. Raising a Disney Kid is designed to provide helpful tips, planning info, reviews, and park updates for other parents visiting the Disneyland Resort.
This entry was posted in Disneyland, Memory Lane Photos and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

